Jenufa & Katya Kabanova - English National Opera Guide 33

Jenufa & Katya Kabanova - English National Opera Guide 33 $22.99

Leoš Janáček

Published by John Calder Publications

English National Opera Guides are ideal companions to the opera, providing stimulating introductory articles together with the complete text of each opera in English and the original

This double volume contains two masterpieces of the Czech composer Leo Janácek

Jenufa was the opera which finally brought him international recognition and, with it, fame at home

Based on Ostrovsky's The Storm, Katya Kabanova contains wonderful music inspired by the composer's love for a much younger woman

The scores are discussed by Arnold Whittall, and the background sources are variously introduced by social and literary historians

John Tyrell comments on an important letter about the genesis of Katya; Sir Charles Mackerras describes his work as an interpreter and advocate of this brilliantly original and dramatic music


'Brilliantly produced and superb value' ~ Sunday Times

'All these will provide the new opera-goer with food for thought' ~ Daily Telegraph

'Wholehearted recommendation of this valuable new series' ~ TLS

Browse Library

About Stageplays

Stageplays offers you the largest collection of Plays & Musicals in the world.

Based in the UK and the USA, we’ve been serving the online theatre community since the last century. We’re primarily a family-run business and several of us also work in professional theatre.

But we’re all passionate about theatre and we all work hard to share that passion with you and the world’s online community.

Subscribe to our theatre newsletter

We'll email you regular details of new plays and half-price special offers on a broad range of theatre titles.


We can deliver any play in print to any country in the world - and we ship from both the US and the UK.

© 2010 - 2021 Stageplays, Inc.